Contents

Bitwarden - Open Source password manager

Bitwarden - a great password manager

I used 1 Password for years to keep my passwords safe. The program has always served me well. When the company changed its licensing model a few years ago, I looked for an alternative. Since then, I have been using Bitwarden instead and have never looked back since.

In contrast to other password managers such as 1 Password or **Dashlane *, Bitwarden is completely free and is available for all common platforms. Plugins for all common browsers are also available.

What I personally find very exciting is that Bitwarden is open source. In addition, Bitwarden operates a Bug Bounty Program via Hackerone in order to be able to quickly uncover bugs and security problems.

Features

The functionality is basically what you would expect to from such programs. The interface reminds me a lot of 1Password which of course makes the switch much easier. In addition to access data, you can also save secure notes, credit cards or identity data. With a browser extension you can e.g. fill in credit card details or login forms with one click.

/img/bitwarden/bitwarden1.gif
Interface

Functions such as 2-factor authentication are of course built in and work very well, e.g. if you have an authenticator app. In the premium version you can also use the FIDO U2F security key if you want to be completely safe.

The synchronization runs flawlessly between all devices.

Premium Features

There is also a premium version, which basically offers 1 GB of secure storage space and FIDO U2F security key or duo support. Most of them should easily get there with the free range of functions. I booked the premium variant myself, not so much because of the functions, but to provide a little support. $ 10 for the premium variant is really cheap.

A family account is available for $ 12 a year for up to 5 users. What I think is very nice here is that you can share entries with each other.

Conclusion

Bitwarden is a really good password manager and a great example that open source software has to be in no way inferior to a commercial solution.

This post is Part 3 of 100 Days To Offload. If you want to participate, visit https://100daystooffload.com

Inhalt

Bitwarden - Open Source Passwortmanager

Bitwarden - ein großartiger Passwortmanager

Ich habe jahrelang 1 Password benutzt um meine Kennwörter sicher aufzubewahren. Das Programm hat mir immer gute Dienste geleistet. Als die Firma vor ein paar Jahren das Lizenzmodell umgestellt hat, habe ich nach einer Alternative umgesehen. Seither setze ich stattdessen Bitwarden ein und habe seitdem auch nie wieder zurückgeschaut.

Bitwarden ist im Gegensatz zu anderen Passwort Managern, wie 1 Password oder Dashlane vollkommen kostenlos und ist für alle gängigen Plattformwn verfügbar. Auch Plugins für alle gängigen Browser sind verfügbar.

Was ich persönlich auch sehr spannend finde ist, dass Bitwarden Open Source ist. Darüber hinaus betreibt Bitwarden ein Bug Bounty Program über Hackerone um Bugs und Sicherheitsprobleme schnell aufdecken zu können.

Funktionen

Der Funktionsumfang im Grunde so, wie man es von solchen Programmen gewohnt ist. Das Interface erinnert mich stark an 1Password was den Umstieg natürlich deutlich erleichtert. Ihr könnt neben Zugangsdaten auch sichere Notizen, Kreditkarten oder auch Identitätsdaten speichern. Mit einer Browser-Erweiterung kann mann dann z.B. mit einem Klick Kreditkartendaten oder Login-Formulare ausfüllen.

/img/bitwarden/bitwarden1.gif
Interface

Funktionen wie 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung sind selbstverständlich eingebaut und funktionieren sehr gut, wenn man z.B. eine Authenticator App nutzt. In der Premium Variante kann man aber auch FIDO U2F Sicherheitsschlüssel nutzen, wenn man ganz sicher sein will.

Die Synchronisation läuft zwischen allen Geräten tadellos.

Premium Variante

Es gibt auch eine Premium Variante, die im Grunde 1 GB sicheren Speicherplatz bietet und FIDO U2F Sicherheitsschlüssel oder Duo Unterstützung. Die meisten sollten aber mit dem kostenlosen Funktionsumfang locker hinkommen. Ich selbst habe die Premium Variante gebucht, weniger wegenn der Funktionen, sondern um ein wenig zu unterstützen. 10 $ für die Premium Variante sind wirklich günstig.

Einen Familienaccount gibt es für 12 $ im Jahr für bis zu 5 Benutzer. Was ich hier sehr schön finde ist, dass man Einträge untereinander freigeben kann.

Fazit

Bitwarden ist ein richtig guter Passwort Manager und ein tolles Beispiel dafür, dass Open Source Software einer kommerziellen Lösung in nichts nachstehen muss.

Dieser Beitrag ist Teil 3 von 100 Days To Offload. Wenn Du mitmachen willst besuche https://100daystooffload.com